Getting To Know Us: Max Snow

Have you ever been stuck in a moment you couldn’t get out of?

I know I’ve been. In fact, for the last 17 years of my life, I have been a part of one of the most beautiful cycles of music discovery. To think that it all began at the young age of 4 is quite astounding. Sergeant Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band changed my life forever, despite my inability to understand the lyrics. At a young age, I discovered that the power of music is its universal ability to captivate you, and thus, I began the obsessive, “I want every song in the world” stage of my life. In a mere 5 years, thanks to my local library, I was able to build a database of over 80,000 songs, and, most importantly, I was able discover some of the most diverse and independent sounds that truly defined my life. Whether it was rocking out to Chuck Berry, or contemplating the meaning of life with Pink Floyd, or hating everything with Metallica, the opportunities to express myself were endless. And that is why I fell in love with music. No matter how I felt, there was always a song that epitomized my emotions. But even more, music served as the safe haven for me. Throughout some of the most hectic periods of my life, I always had music to comfort me. Like many others, my emotions were channeled through different genres and lyrics because they were stories I could relate to. Frank Turner’s “Recovery,” for instance, has been one of the most introspective music experiences I’ve ever had. While the song is focused on recovering from drug addictions, my interpretation of it transformed the lyrics to signify a more intimate setting, one in which I have come to know quite well: horrible relationships. As clichéd as that may sound, I hope I am not the only one who rocks out to Pink Floyd or the Doors during low times in my life.

I like to think that my entire life has revolved around music. As the CEO of Backtrack Music, I envision a world where people are united by this universal love of music. Building a community of people that are “Stuck in a Moment They Can’t Get Out Of” has always been a dream of mine. Backtrack isn’t just a piece of software that allows you to listen to music; it is a platform dedicated to bringing together music lovers and spreading that inextricable experience you get when listening to a song that utterly blows you away. Let’s revolutionize the music experience together.

Thank you,

Max Snow

Leave a Reply

